History
Founded in 1987, NSSRA is the retail voice for the ski and snowboard industries and provides information and services specialty snow sports retailers need to operate more successfully.

For years following the formation of the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Committee on snow skiing, several independent shop owners worked to represent retailers’ interests. By 1987, it became apparent that a separate organization was needed to represent retailer interests in the ski industry on a nationwide scale. The National Ski Retailers Association (NSRA) was born.

NSRA made an immediate difference. Recognized by the SnowSports Industries America (SIA) as the retailers' voice, NSRA was invited to sit on the Ski Industry Marketing Committee. The Association's Cost of Doing Business Survey became the benchmark for retail performance throughout the ski retail community.

NSRA worked with the Professional Ski Instructors of America (PSIA), the National Ski Patrol (NSP) and ski suppliers to reform pro form distribution.

To better represent the changes taking place on the slopes, the association changed its name in 1996 to the National Ski & Snowboard Retailers Association (NSSRA).

NSSRA advocates on behalf of its members on a wide range of retailer issues including Pro Forms abuses, Internet MAP pricing policies, and vendor-direct sales to consumers. Most recently in 2011, NSSRA was among the industry stakeholders that helped resolve an issue with trade show dates.

NSSRA is working with other snow sports industry stakeholders to help grow participation in skiing and snowboarding.

NSSRA retail members receive membership in the National Sporting Goods Association (NSGA) at no additional cost. The NSSRA Board of Directors approved this added benefit. NSGA, because of its size, has certain benefits available only to NSGA members in addition to those available through NSSRA, and we want those available to you. 

National Ski & Snowboard Retailers Association 
Board of Directors

Teddy Schiavoni, Chairman
Summit Ski & Snowboard
686 Worcester Rd.
Framingham, MA 01702-5230
508.875.5551  Fax: 508.875.0690
teddy@summitskishop.com

Lori Underwood, Vice Chair
PeterGlenn of Vermont
2901 W. Oakland Park Blvd.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33311
954.484.7800 x147  Fax: 954.739.5724
lori.underwood@peterglenn.com

Greg Dekdebrun, Treasurer
Dekdebrun’s Ski & Snowboard
20 Washington St Box 570
Ellicottville, NY 14731
716.699.2754    Fax: 716.699.5507
dekdebruns@hotmail.com

Wilbur Rice, Past Chairman
Equipe Sport
Junction Routes 30 & 100
Rawsonville, VT, 05155
802.297.2847  Fax: 802.297.3138
wilbur@equipesport.com

Larry Weindruch, President
National Ski & Snowboard Retailers Association
1601 Feehanville Drive, Suite 300
Mt. Prospect, IL 60056
847.391.9825     Fax: 847.391.9827
lweindruch@nssra.com

Tom Fuerst
Pedigree Ski Shop
355 Mamaroneck Ave.
White Plains, NY 10605-1440
914.948.2995 Fax: 914.948.1599
tom1st@pedigreeskishop.com

Tom Gately
Snowsports Merchandising Corp.
P.O. Box 3929
Springfield, MA 01101
413.739.7331       Fax: 413.731.9335
tgately@sportsshops.com

Gordon Geiger
Geiger’s Ski & Sport Haus
50 Shopping Plaza Drive
Chagrin Falls, OH 44022

440.247-4900  Fax: 216.521.2614
gordon@shopgeigers.com

Tracy Gibbons
Sturtevant’s
1100 Bellevue Way NE, #7
Bellevue, WA 98004-4280
425.454.2261  Fax: 425.454.7815
tracyg@sturtevants.com

Larry Merkel
Round House Sports Center, Inc.
1422 W. Main St., Box 1401
Bozeman, MT 59771
406.587.1258   Fax: 406.587.1260
Larry@roundhouse-sports.com

Dave Nacke
Sports Specialists Ltd.
400 Corporate Circle, Suite 400D
Golden, CO 80401
720.645.1045
daven@sslteam.com

Dale Schaefer
Aurora Action Sports
669 Main St
East Aurora, NY 14052-2402
716.652.7180  Fax: 716.652.7339
adschaefer@verizon.net